Most make you tired, some make you good. Only we make you Elite!

Anthony’s Workout While on Vacation!

 

Summer is a great time for vacations and taking some time
off from work. There is nothing like taking a week or two off to relax.  However, vacation doesn’t mean time off from
working out. There are so many fun ways to stay active during your time off, like
going for a run on the beach or a bike ride on the boardwalk. When I came to
the shore this week for vacation I knew there was no way I was going to go the
whole week without getting in some good workouts. I wanted to try something
different and new. As I was sitting on the beach laying around working on my
tan I found something new. My little brother asked if I wanted to try Stand up
paddle boarding with him. We were able to rent them for an hour for only $15
and then paddle right out into the ocean. The real question was if it would be
as good of a workout?

The stand up paddle board also known as a “SUP” is a cool
new product hitting bodies of water everywhere. It is an oversized surfboard
that is thicker and more buoyant than a typical board. They can be used on
lakes, rivers, beaches, even small ponds or creeks. The water just needs to be
deep enough so that the fin of the board doesn’t scrap across the bottom (8-12
inches). There are three ways (that I am aware of) that you can ride a “SUP.”
You can ride it sitting down, on your knees, or standing up. I tried all three
so that I could give you guys a review of each and tell you exactly where I
felt my body working!

Sitting down:


Sitting down is the easiest position to paddle.
It is more like riding a kayak or canoe. Paddling in this position most
resembles a seated row exercise. Sitting down eliminates the balance aspect of
the exercise. While paddling I could feel the work being done in my back,
predominantly in my upper back, as well as my arms. The muscles worked are the
lats (latissimus dorsi), the traps (Trapezius), the rhomboids, and the biceps.

Kneeling:


As soon as I moved into the kneeling position I
could immediately feel my core engage. The motion remains the same, but the
work now stems from the muscles of the core, the abdominal (rectus and
transverse abdominis, internal and external obliques) muscles as well as the
erector spinae muscle of the back (lower back muscle that runs up along the
spinal cord). This position was very uncomfortable for me and my bad knees.
Anyone who has had knee problems or knee surgeries I would not recommend this
position. With the addition muscle recruitment I was producing more force and
was able to move a lot faster.

Standing:


Standing on your feet is obviously the hardest
position and requires an extraordinary amount of balance. Wayne and I are
always using our different balance equipment during our workouts with our
clients, but this was on another level! I am someone with a great deal of
balance from all the snowboarding and wakeboarding I do and even I took a while
to get used to it. I fell a few times, and my little brother fell a whole bunch
of times! I was honestly a little surprised at how hard it was. I recommend
standing up slowly and then rocking back and forth a little bit to get a feel
for the balance that is needed. Don’t get discouraged right away and don’t
expect to stay dry. I am thinking that a few falls are pretty unavoidable, but
hey it is a great way to cool off! In this position you can feel a full body
burn! All the muscles of the back and core used in the other two positions are
used, but now the legs are involved (quads, hamstrings, glutes, hip flexors,
and calves). The stabilizer muscles of my lower leg and calves were burning up
from controlling the rocking of the board. The paddling motion was now like a
squat so that I could get nice and low to dig the paddle deeper into the water.
I was paddling two strokes on each side while also pumping with my legs
producing a full body workout! Switching the paddle over the board really gave
me a great core exercise!

Review:


Overall I think the SUP was an awesome
experience and workout! My brother and I paddled all the way out to the mile
mark in the ocean despite getting yelled at by the lifeguards. We were so far
out that we could barely see the beach, and our only company was the swarms of
jellyfish and sea creatures underneath our board. We were a little freaked out
since it happened to be “Shark Week!”  A
lifeguard had to come out on a waverunner to tell us to head back in. In total
we covered close to 3 miles on the board (a mile out, a mile in, and we chased
each other around once we were out far away from the beach). The next day my
legs were tight mostly in the hamstring, and well as my lower back. My little
brother, who is younger and doesn’t train to the same level as me, said he was
sore head to toe as he struggled to get out of bed. Two days later is when DOMS
really kicked in. DOMS stands for delayed onset muscle soreness and usually
peaks 48 hours after activity. My core, butt, and legs felt like I had been
through one of Wayne’s boot camps! Since this was something new that I have
never tried before my muscles were worked in a different way and really had me
feeling good. It is nice to be sore every once in awhile!

I can see the SUP becoming more and
more popular. I am not saying go out and buy one, as they are priced between
$500-$1500 dollars, but I definitely recommend giving it a try next time you’re
at the beach!

 

Leave a Reply

